Easter, Chili, & Fidget blankets

Happy and Blessed Easter

We attended all the Triduum Liturgies at our parish and had a quiet Easter Sunday.

The Tuesday of Holy Week, I was able to drop off 7 Fidget Blankets to St. Joseph’s Hospital in Nashua. I made 2, and the other 5 were made by members of the St. Thomas Aquinas Stitcher’s Group. My 2 are pictured below

This past Saturday, the St. Thomas Aquinas High School Youth Group held a Chili Cook-Off Fundraiser to support their upcoming mission trip. There were 16 different chilis vying for 1st, 2nd, 3rd Place and People’s Choice. My husband’s version of a Texas Red (lots of bell peppers, jalapeño peppers, a few habanero peppers, stew beef, no beans) took home 3rd Place. What a yummy and fun evening.

Haven’t been doing a lot of sewing in these past 2 months. I did, however, complete one quilt top using the Cozy Quilt Designs Strip Club pattern Spangled. Picture to come later after I get it finished. My daughter was home for a week in mid-March and graduation is coming up fast on May 13.

What I have been doing is some prep work to completely redo my sewing room. Just about everything is off the walls (still got a few screw anchors to pull out), the old rug that was installed in 1999 is out, my husband has scraped the ‘popcorn’ off the ceiling and is finishing up painting it. I started to prime one wall, but stopped so the ceiling could be done. Need to clean all the walls, get the holes patched, prime the walls, then paint. Also to paint all the trim. Finally, need to get new flooring in once the painting is complete. In the process of picking out the new flooring – will not be carpet.

Blessing for a wonderful Easter Season.

Leave a comment